Summer Sizzler

Saturday will be Sixes’ Night to Shine at ABC

by Nick Gima

                Ashland, WI, June 17 — The 11th annual Six-Cylinder “Summer Sizzler” will be the headline event at the ABC Raceway on Saturday night.

The Auto Value Auto Parts store of Ashland will be the presenting sponsor of the popular event, which will put the spotlight on a division that is unique to the northern Wisconsin speedplant.

The class is intended to be as close to entry-level as possible, with rules limiting the amount of horsepower and handling tweaks that can be implemented. However, the chassis used are nearly the same as are used in the WISSOTA Super Stocks, and the bodies make it tough to tell Sixes apart from Supers from even a short distance.

The in-line six-cylinder motor may not generate the roar of a Super Stock’s V8, but the action in the division can be highly competitive and very entertaining. No other track – certainly not in the Upper Midwest, at least – offers a class of racing based on this type of engine-and-chassis combination for a regular weekly show.

Over the previous ten “Sizzlers” there have been eight different winners; only Neil Adamzak (2010, ‘14) and Travis Swanson (‘07-’08) have repeated as “Sizzler” champs. The defending champion of the event is Tiffany Hudack of Ashland, who also became the second straight and third-ever event winner to go on the division championship. Dale Coddington turned that trick in 2015, while Patrick Beeksma won both the “Sizzler” and the Sixes crown in 2012.

Two drivers – Don Muzzy in 2011 and CJ Polacek in ‘09 – scored their first career feature wins in this special. Tyler Hudack (2013) is the only other winner of the “Sizzler.”

A $650 payday awaits the winner of the Sixes’ A-main. Many drivers from the division will be fresh off of a visit to the Proctor (MN) Speedway on Friday night.

The Raceway’s other four PolyDome Dirt Track Series divisions will be in action as well. The WISSOTA Modifieds are coming off of an historic night on the red-clay oval, as the Advantage RV Modified Series made its way to Ashland for the first time in its seven-year history last Saturday, and based on the thrilling ending to its 40-lap feature it may not be the last. First-time visitor Landon Atkinson of Little Falls, MN, used a last-lap pass of race-long leader Al Uotinen of Superior to steal his first ABC feature win.

Nick Oreskovich of Mason continued his early-season tear with his third straight win in the WISSOTA Super Stock headliner, while sophomore driver Kyle Copp of Brule made it back-to-back feature wins in the WISSOTA Pure Stocks.

Ashland’s Tyler Vernon claimed his first-ever WISSOTA-sanctioned feature win with a strong run in the Midwest Mod A-main, and Scott Ovaska of Marengo returned to Victory Lane for the first time in six years after his Sixes feature win.

Hot laps will start on Saturday night at 6:15 pm, followed by heat races at approximately 7 pm. Adult grandstand admission tickets are priced at just $11 each, and kids accompanied by a paying adult will be admitted free. “Z-93 Race Night” will air on WBSZ, 93.3 FM, and stream live on, from 4:30-6 pm with up-to-date track news and weather information.

The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland on State Highway 13 and one mile west on Butterworth Road. For raceday information call (715) 682-4990

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts