Northland Tracks to Host Super Stock Series in July

by Nick Gima

                Ashland, WI — When the FastLane Motorsports Northland Super Stock Series cranks up for its second edition in mid-July, the call will again be made to the drivers of one of WISSOTA’s most competitive classes to try their hand at a chance for some very generous payouts.

The Series, which enjoyed a successful and popular initial run last summer, is scheduled for three successive nights in July at three tracks close in proximity and well known for hosting strong weekly WISSOTA Super Stock fields.

The Series will start with a Friday night kick-off at the AmsOil Speedway in Superior on July 15, then continue on to the ABC Raceway in Ashland on Saturday, July 16, before concluding on Sunday night, July 17 at the Proctor (MN) Speedway.

On any given regular race night, each of these tracks consistently hosts stout fields of Super Stocks. But add to that a healthy number of visiting cream-of-the-crop drivers chasing the generous purses and prize money to be offered by the Series, and you have the makings of a premier race event crammed into three action-packed nights.

Forty-two drivers participated in the inaugural Northland Super Stock Series, of which 16 competed in all three races. The Series paid out $10,700 in points money, and the participating tracks added over $10,000 in purse, including winner’s payouts of $600 at Superior and Ashland and $500 at Proctor.

Unfortunately for 41 of the drivers, Curt Myers of Cameron was running about as strong as anyone in the land at the time and took home the lion’s share of the overall fund – and then some. Myers never lost a race that he had entered during the Series and collected over $4,500 in purse and points fund cash for his three nights of work. He continued on to a dream season that culminated in the 2015 WISSOTA Super Stock national championship.

Following Myers in the top-ten in the Series’ final standings were Andy Davey of Hibbing, MN; Scott Lawrence of Superior; Jeff Klopstein, Jr, of Tomahawk; Nick Oreskovich of Mason; Kevin Burdick of Proctor, MN; Shane Kisling of Park Falls; Willie Johnson, Jr, of Superior; Andy Grymala of Superior; and Cory Casari of Montreal.

For this year’s edition, the Series will again cash out to those drivers finishing in the top ten in final points, as well as paying a “sweep” bonus to any driver who, like Myers last year, can claim feature wins in all three Series events. A “participant non-qualifier” bonus will also be paid to any driver finishing outside of the top ten in points but competing in all three events. And finally, “hard charger” bonuses will be paid out to the drivers that gain the most positions in the running order from the beginning to the end of each of the three feature races, as well as the one driver who gains the most positions cumulatively during all three features.

In the 2015 Series, participant non-qualifier bonuses were handed out to Shawn McFadden, Jr, of Ashland; Dave Flynn of Superior; Patrick Beeksma of Ironwood, MI; DJ Keeler of Superior; Spencer Sorenson of Duluth, MN; and Don Muzzy of Ironwood, MI.

Hard charger awards last year went to Klopstein, Sorenson and Kisling at the individual events, and to Casari for his overall effort.

FastLane Motorsports & Custom Powder Coating of Ashland has once again signed on as the title sponsor for the event, while Lulich Implement of Mason has agreed to be a contributing sponsor. Dennis & Cathy Pattee will generously provide the Hard Charger bonuses again this year.

If one of this year’s events is canceled due to inclement weather, that night’s Series show will take place at the next regularly-scheduled night during which the Super Stocks race at that track.

Series organizer and Proctor Speedway president Dennis McCauley stated recently that he was thrilled with the outstanding support of the Series shown by drivers, fans and sponsors, and he feels that the 2016 version could be even more exciting and have more to offer for the drivers and fans. He also hinted that more sponsors are coming on board for the 2016 Series and will be announced soon.

The AmsOil Speedway is situated on Tower Avenue just south of downtown Superior, at the Head of the Lakes Fairgrounds. The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland off State Highway 13 on Butterworth Road. The Proctor Speedway is located within the South St Louis County Fairgrounds on North Boundary Avenue in Proctor.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts