Hall of Fame Night July 28th

ABC to Honor Its Own in Saturday’s HoF Ceremonies

by Nick Gima

                Ashland, WI, July 28 — The ABC Raceway will pay tribute to some folks who have made it one of the most successful short-track racing facilities in the Midwest this Saturday night.

Zar’s Bar & Banquet Hall will be the presenting sponsor of the Raceway’s fifth annual Hall of Fame induction ceremonies. The nine new honorees making up the Hall’s Class of 2018 will be introduced to the fans on hand during the racing program’s intermission break.

This year’s class will include four drivers, four members of its volunteer staff, and one business unanimously chosen as an honorary inductee.

The drivers will include 1970 Hobby Stock champion Ray Gregor; two-time (2007, ‘10) Six-Cylinder champ Greg Jaeger; Tim Mackey, who won titles in the Hobby Stocks (1993) and Street Stocks (‘94); and 1967 track champ Bob Mattson.

Those being honored as volunteers and contributors include three-time and current Raceway president Eric Erickson; former Board of Directors member Gordy Gilbertson; Raceway treasurer Cheryl Klobucher; and, posthumously, long-time volunteers Pete & Carol Seemuth.

As the honorary inductee, North Star Beverage of Hurley served as both a beverage supplier and supporting sponsor for over 40 years.

With five weeks remaining in the 2018 season, fans’ and drivers’ attentions start turning toward the championship standings, and there’s a lot to take note of. Of the five regular weekly divisions, three have ties atop the points standings – a rarity in short-track racing, and a tribute to the competitive nature of the racers.

Friendly rivals Steve Stuart and Kevin Eder head up the WISSOTA Modifieds standings, while Paul Suzik and Dan Kingsley are running neck-and-neck in the WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds. And Tiffany Hudack and Randy Graham are dead-even in the ABC Six-Cylinders, which should make for an exciting stretch run in that division as well.

Nick Oreskovich has the inside track on a third straight WISSOTA Super Stock crown at the two-thirds mark of the season, and Andrew Hanson has been dominant so far in the WISSOTA Pure Stocks, with a track-leading five feature wins to date.

Prior to the race program, the top vote-getters in last Saturday’s “Favorite Driver” competition will be recognized. The competition was part of the Raceway’s American Cancer Society fundraising efforts. The track and its fans, in cooperation with Northern Clearing Inc, raised approximately $4,000 in cash through donations to ACS’s “Relay for Life” programs, as well as nearly 1,400 of food and other products for The Brick Ministries, which operates a local food bank.

All five divisions will be back in action, as hot laps will start at 6:15 pm and racing will get underway at 7. Adult admission tickets are just $11 each, and kids ages 12 and under will be admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult.

“Z-93 Race Night” will air live on WBSZ, 93.3 FM, and stream online at www.wbszfm.com, from 4:30-6 pm with at-the-track news and weather updates. Fans can also listen to the pre-race coverage by downloading the free HCG Radio app onto their smart phone, tablet or other mobile device.

The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland on State Highway 13 and one mile west on Butterworth Road. For raceday information call (715) 682-4990, or log on to the track’s website, www.abcraceway.com.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts