ABC Raceway Opener Cut Short by Power Outage

by Nick Gima

                Ashland, WI, May 21 — Just as the WISSOTA Midwest Mod B-main was taking to the ABC Raceway, a local power outage hit the facility. After nearly two hours of efforts by the local power provider, the Raceway was forced to cancel the balance of its opening-night race program, presented by Northern State Bank and Auto Value Auto Parts.

Beautiful clear skies and temps in the low 80s greeted a huge crowd for the 52nd season opener, and 94 cars filled the pit area for WISSOTA PolyDome Dirt Track Series racing action. All 11 heat races were completed in quick order before the Mid-Mod “B” was called to the track.

The Mid-Mod semi was completed in the fading sunlight, but the five opening-night features will now be rescheduled to be run over the next two race nights (divisions to be announced). The next scheduled show will be held on Saturday, May 28, and will be a salute to those who have served in our Nation’s military, presented by the Ashland Area Chamber of Commerce. All active and retired Armed Services personnel with a military ID will be admitted free of charge.

Hot laps will be at 6:15 pm, with green-flag racing at 7. Adult tickets are $11, and fans ages 12 and under are admitted free when accompanied by a paying adult. “Z-93 Race Night” will air live on WBSZ, 93.3 FM, and stream online at, from 4:30-6 pm with at-the-track news and weather updates.

The ABC Raceway is located 3-1/2 miles south of Ashland on State Highway 13 and one mile west on Butterworth Road. For raceday information call (715) 682-4990.


WISSOTA Modifieds

Feature: postponed; to be rescheduled.

Heat 1: Rick Rivord, Superior; Steve Lavasseur, River Falls; Bill Byholm, Glidden; Neil Balduc, Bessemer, MI; Brian Mikkonen, Iron River; Pat Cook, Washburn; Mickey Nosser, Phillips; Bradley Seavers, Rib Lake.

Heat 2: Steve Stuart, Ashland; Al Uotinen, Superior; Kevin Eder, Ashland; Jeff Spacek, Phillips; Paul Niznik, Medford; Destin Lorimor, Superior; Dustin Hudack, Ashland; Scott Hudack, Ashland; Jacob Hiatt, New Richmond.

WISSOTA Super Stocks

Feature: postponed; to be rescheduled.

Heat 1: Randy Spacek, Phillips; Scott Lawrence, Superior; Cory Casari, Montreal; Nick Oreskovich, Mason; Terran Spacek, Phillips; Andy Grymala, Superior; Charlie Anderson, Ironwood, MI; Colten Vernon, Ashland.

Heat 2: Shawn McFadden Jr, Ashland; Jeff Klopstein, Tomahawk; Pat Beeksma, Ironwood, MI; Keith Corcilius, Phillips; Greg Kuklinski, Ironwood, MI; Myron Basina, Washburn; Dave Elliott, Minocqua; Don Muzzy, Ironwood, MI.

WISSOTA Midwest Modifieds

Feature: postponed; to be rescheduled.

Heat 1: Kevin Eder, Ashland; Marcus Dunbar, Marenisco, MI; John Kallas, Hurley; Tanner Byholm, Glidden; Paul Suzik, Ironwood, MI; Ryan Adamzak, Ashland; Ryan Barningham, Bayfield; Matt Deragon, Ashland; Gunner Peterson, Drummond; Bill Muhlig, Bessemer, MI.

Heat 2: Tanner Hicks, Ashland; George Dalbeck, Ironwood, MI; Tyler Vernon, Ashland; Shawn Rivord, Superior; Brady Mesko-Jokinen, Mellen; Pete Paulus, Phillips; Clay Passuello, Ironwood, MI; Jordan Barningham, Bayfield; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland.

Heat 3: Michael Truscott, Chippewa Falls; Cole Spacek, Phillips; Tad Bretting, Ashland; Ross Fuhrman, Ashland; Tyler Hudack, Ashland; Kevin Monteith, Thunder Bay, ON; Cy Hoaglan, Ashland; Brandon Copp, Brule; Robert Hyde, Ashland.

Semi-Feature: Deragon; Lindquist; Muhlig; J Barningham; Hyde; Copp; Peterson.


Feature: postponed; to be rescheduled.

Heat 1: Tiffany Hudack, Ashland; Forrest Schultz, Ashland; Brendon Ottman, Ashland; Jeremy Lindquist, Ashland; Derek Milligan, Bayfield; Joshua Saunders, Spooner; Bella Bretting, Washburn; Bubba Anderson, Trego.

Heat 2: Dale Coddington, Hayward; Tyler Hudack, Ashland; DeJay Jarecki, Ashland; Scott Ovaska, Marengo; Cole Vernon, Ashland; Joe Newago, Bayfield; Adam Traaholt, Ashland; Dalton Truchon, Ashland.

Pure Stocks

Feature: postponed; to be rescheduled.

Heat 1: Brandle Pupp, Ashland; Alex Smith, Solon Springs; Tim Carlson, Superior; Jeff Christman, Superior; Chad Carlson, Superior; Justin Weinberger, Park Falls; Jake Nevala, Ashland; Bob Skrobot, Manitowish Waters.

Heat 2: Randy Graham, Trego; Andrew Hanson, Iron River; Randy Conner, Hayward; Devin Reynolds, Cloquet, MN; Steve Pohl, Manitowish Waters; Andy Poll, Two Harbors, MN; Brock Bielke, Hayward; Nick Paoli, Ironwood, MI.


ABC 5/21/16 results


Nick Gima

announcer / publicist / historian

ABC Raceway

Ashland, WI

“home of the Red Clay Classic”


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Related posts